No. 4 NSU Swimming Makes History In Dominant Sweep Of Tampa

Nova Southeastern Swimming Makes History In Dominant Sweep of Tampa

The Sharks won 24 of the 28 events that were swam on Saturday


FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – The Nova Southeastern University men’s and women’s swimming teams made history on Saturday afternoon, defeating Tampa by the largest margin in program history. The women won by a score of 162-100, while the men won by a score of 169-93. The Sharks swam a 2015-16 team-high 12 NCAA B-Standard times on the day, while Anton Lobanov swam the fastest 100-yard breaststroke time in NCAA Division II this year with a time of 53.87.

“We have kept our foot on the gas pedal all season long without taking the pressure off and it was encouraging to see our athletes respond so well in their performances today,” said head coach Hollie Bonewit-Cron. “This team has remained tough all season and today was no different. They knew what was at hand and they were dynamic in their execution.”

In the first event of the day, Courtney DeVeny, Malin Westman, Jordan Shows and Sydney Panzarino swam a NCAA B-Standard time of 1:46.31 in the women’s 200-yard medley relay to take first place. David Van Der Colff, Anton Lobanov, Victor Tarin and Thiago Sickert followed with a NCAA B-Standard time in the men’s 200-medley relay, swimming a first-place time of 1:30.69. In the third event of the day, the women’s 1000-yard freestyle, Georgina Allin swam a NCAA B-Standard time of 10:27.44 to take first place. Allin was trailed by Blake Woodrow, who swam a first-place time of 9:45.41 in the men’s 1000-free.

In the women’s 200-yard freestyle, Emma Wahlstrom led the pack with a NCAA B-Standard time of 1:52.75. Sickert and Tarin then swam NCAA B-Standard times of 1:39.04 and 1:39.05, respectively, to take first and second place in the men’s 200-free. In the next event, the women’s 100-yard backstroke, Panzarino swam a first-place time of 59.82. Marco Aldabe then got his day started with a win in the men’s 100-back, swimming a time of 50.85.

In the ninth event of the day, the women’s 100-yard breaststroke, Westman took first place, swimming a time of 1:05.62. After Lobanov’s swim in the men’s 100-breast, DeVeny had a strong swim in the women’s 200-yard butterfly, taking first place with a time of 2:06.83. Stephen Klein then went on to win the men’s 200-fly, edgingThomas Rutherford by .20 seconds with a time of 1:54.09. The next two events were two of just four events that the Sharks didn’t win, but that didn’t stop Panzarino and Malique Elder from scoring for the Sharks with a second-place time of 24.46 and fourth-place time of 21.08, respectively.

Tampa Spartan sprinters Marisa Barton and Khalid Aldaboos each won their respective 50 freestyle event as Barton finished first on the women’s side with a 24.04 time. Aldaboos touched the wall at the 20.85 second mark to claim the men’s 50 free.

Tampa also dominated the men’s sprint as the top-three finishers were Spartans. Following Aldaboos were Martin Hammer and Jeremy Parker, as both finished at the 20.96 second mark.

Spartans women swimmer Victoria Horsman recorded a top finish in the 100 yard butterfly, touching the wall in 59.05 seconds for first place in the event.

After the first break, Wahlstrom took victory in the women’s 100-yard freestyle, swimming a NCAA B-Standard time of 51.99. Sickert followed with first-place time of 45.57 in the men’s 100-free. DeVeny would then win the women’s 200-yard backstroke, swimming a time of 2:04.75. She was followed by a NCAA B-Standard time of 1:50.29 from Aldabe, fast enough to secure victory in the men’s 200-back. Westman trailed Aldabe with a victory in the women’s 200-yard breaststroke, swimming a time of 2:19.53. She was followed by Lobanov, who defeated the rest of the field in the men’s 200-breast by over 10 seconds with a NCAA B-Standard time of 2:02.21.

In the next two events, the women’s and men’s 500-yard freestyle, Wahlstrom and Eddie Zacka took first place, swimming times of 5:07.23 and 4:44.57, respectively. That led into Caroline Oster‘s second-place finish in the women’s 100-yard butterfly, a race that she swam a time of 59.74. She was followed by Sickert, who swam a NCAA B-Standard time of 49.51 in the men’s 100-fly to secure a win.

After the final break, DeVeny swam her final individual event of the day, winning the women’s 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:07.71. DeVeny was followed by Aldabe, who went on to win the men’s 200-IM with a time of 1:52.15. In the final women’s event of the day, the women’s 200-yard freestyle relay, Jordan Shows, Wahlstrom, Brooke Munion and Allin swam a first-place time of 1:30.50. They were followed by Tarin, Elder, Aldabe and Lobanov who swam a second-place time of 1:24.26.

Tampa’s final first-place event game in the last of the day, as the corps of Runar Borgen, Jordan Augier, Hammer and Parker combined for a 1:21.65 finish in the 200 freestyle relay. Parker recorded a 19.91 time for his leg of the race to anchor the relay victory.


Compiled from Nova’s and Tampa’s Notes


Florida Swim Network