Propelled by four national titles, the Florida men’s swimming & diving team placed third in the team standings at the 2017 NCAA Championships held in the world-famous IU Natatorium.

The Gators scored 294.5 points over the four-day meet to earn third place, which matches their best team finish under head coach Gregg Troy. Florida finished third at both the 2016 and 2014 NCAAs.

Tonight also marks Florida’s 41st top-10 national finish all-time. The Gators have finished inside the top 10 at NCAAs every year since 2000 (Troy took on the men’s team prior to the 1999-2000 season).

Rounding out the meet’s national titles today was Caeleb Dressel in the 100 free. The junior collected his third individual championship of the week behind an American, NCAA and U.S. Open time of 40.00.


1650 free

Four Gators competed in the early heats of the mile prior to the day’s finals. Mitch D’Arrigo touched first for Florida at 14:38.40, and Ben Lawless followed in 14:46.78. Blake Manganiello was next in 14:53.68, while Andrew Brady rounded out the Gator contingent in 14:57.06.

Upon the conclusion of the fastest heat, which swam with the other final events tonight, Mitch D’Arrigo ended up placing ninth, Lawless 17th, Manganiello 19th and Andrew Brady 23rd.

200 fly

In his third consolation final this week, Jan Switkowski put together a swim timing 1:41.61. The junior performed solidly this week, winning two of his three B-finals.

400 free relay

The Gators went with a lineup of Caeleb Dressel, Jan Switkowski, Maxime Rooney and Mark Szaranek to finish off the meet in the relay. Florida took second with a time of 2:46.21.

TEAM STANDINGS (top 4 teams only)

1. Texas (542 points)

2. California (349 points)

3. Florida (294.5 points)

4. NC State (272.5 points)


200 IM – Mark Szaranek (1:40.67)

50 free – Caeleb Dressel (18.23)

100 fly – Caeleb Dressel (43.58)

100 free – Caeleb Dressel (40.00)


Qualifying Gators

Brennan Balogh

Khader Baqlah

Andrew Brady

Chandler Bray

Mitch D’Arrigo

Caeleb Dressel

Ben Lawless

Alex Lebed

Blake Manganiello

Ross Palazzo

Maxime Rooney

Samuel Smith

Jan Switkowski

Mark Szaranek

Relay-Only Swimmers

Jack Blyzinskyj

Enzo Martinez-Scarpe