Thirteen Gators received annual SEC accolades to cap the 2016-17 men’s and women’s swimming & diving season, the Southeastern Conference office announced today.
Head coach Gregg Troy was voted the SEC Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year, leading the Gator men to a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships last month and a fifth-consecutive SEC championship title in February. Under Troy, who has coached the men’s team since the 1999-2000 season, Florida has placed in the top 10 nationally for 17-straight years and added five SEC championship team titles to total 38 in program history.
2017 CSCAA Swimmer of the Year Caeleb Dressel can add another SEC Swimmer of the Year honor to his resume, winning the second such honor of his Gator career. Dressel had another exceptional season at Florida, capturing national titles in the 50 free, 100 fly and 100 free and breaking American, NCAA and U.S. Open records in the 100 fly and 100 free. He also helped Florida to All-America honors in four of the five relays at NCAAs, including top-three finishes in the 200 and 400 free relays. The junior now ranks second in program history with six national titles.
At SECs, Dressel won the 50 free, 100 fly and 100 free and also teamed up on the first-place 200 medley relay, 200 free relay, 400 medley relay and 400 free relay.

Maxime Rooney earned SEC Male Freshman Swimmer of the Year, rounding out a standout first season in Gainesville. The freshman received the first individual All-America honor of his career at last month’s NCAAs, taking sixth in the 200 free championship final. He also participated in the second-place 400 free relay and third-place 800 free relay.
Rooney was particularly successful in the 200 free this year. He is the reigning SEC champion in the event and also captured a national title at the AT&T Winter National Championships back in December. Rooney additionally won conference titles in the 400 and 800 free relays.
Additionally, eight other Gator men earned spots on the All-SEC first team and All-Freshman team, while a Gator each landed on the women’s All-SEC second team and All-Freshman team.
Khader Baqlah

Jack Blyzinskyj (*!+)

Chandler Bray (*!+)

Mitch D’Arrigo (*!+)

Caeleb Dressel (*!@+)

Bayley Main (!)

Enzo Martinez-Scarpe (*!+)

Maxime Rooney (*!+)

Jan Switkowski (*!+)

Mark Szaranek (*!@+)


Autumn Finke (!)


Khader Baqlah (!)

Chandler Bray (*!+)

Maxime Rooney (*!+)


Emma Ball

denotes All-American
! denotes SEC Championships medal winner
@ denotes NCAA champion
+ denotes Florida record-holder
To view the full list of award winners and complete All-SEC teams, visit

By Layne Weitzel